menu

Past, Present, and Future of Williams

Founded in 1891 as Williams Memorial Institute

Founded more than 130 years ago through a bequest from Harriet Peck Williams in memory of her son, Thomas W. Williams II, The Williams School began with a mission to advance educational opportunities for young women. Originally located on Broad Street in New London, Williams has grown and evolved to serve students from communities across southeastern Connecticut while continuing its longstanding commitment to opportunity, growth, and academic excellence.

Growth & Evolution at Williams

Williams entered a period of significant growth and change in the postwar era, as the academic program evolved into a college-preparatory liberal arts curriculum. In 1954, the School moved from Broad Street to its present location on the Connecticut College campus. A year later, Williams expanded with the addition of a Middle School for grades 7 and 8. In 1971, another important chapter began when Williams became coeducational.

Williams Today: 2014 to Present

In 2014, Williams expanded its Middle School to include sixth grade and transitioned from an AP curriculum to its distinctive Advanced Courses program. In the years since, the School has continued to expand opportunities for students through its partnership with Connecticut College, including the College Acceleration Program, which allows juniors and seniors to take one College course each semester.

 

Williams also introduced the Interdisciplinary Certificate Program, giving students the opportunity to pursue focused study in Environmental Sustainability, Global Perspectives, Humanities and the Arts, or STEM.

Today, The Williams School is an independent college-preparatory day school serving students in grades 6–12 from communities throughout southeastern Connecticut and Rhode Island.